How BeeBytes came to Bee..

a.k.a. How did my dreams change from Broadway to Web Development.

Just like many of us, I was never too clear on who I want to be when I grow up. When I was somewhere between the end of kindergarden and 1st grade in school, which in Estonia is around the age of 7, there were many options:

  • Musical actress – I really loved Disney Princesses and Andrew Lloyd Webber’s  work. My long singing sessions must have given my parents quite some headaches.
  • A cashier at a grocery store – This childhood dream vanished quite quickly after I found out that cashiers don’t get free food from the store.
  • President of the Estonian Bank – I must admit, this one stayed with me for quite a bit.

However, something much cooler happened:

My parents bought our very first computer. It was amazing – if I remember correctly it had 4GB of disk space, 128MB of RAM and the monitor could have been used as a weapon to crush a good sized Frostbite Spider from Skyrim.

It was perfect! I spent hours watching my parents playing games on it, learned the wonders of (dial up) Internet, found out how to play games without inserting the game CD and so forth.

My school played a big part as well. I used to spend hours in our computer lab just surfing around on the Internet. Little did I know, it was also the place where I was exposed to code for the first time. Unfortunately, all I remember of it were 2 guys who spent hours writing some colourful gibberish on the black screen.

In my final year of high school, I finally got a taste of code for myself. While I could understand the logic of it and found it fascinating and extremely cool, I was not so good at writing code. I decided that I am not smart enough to be in IT and focused on pursuing a degree in something less technical: Economics, and established myself as a Recruiter.

Now, quite some years later (and after some serious work on self-esteem), the coding itch returned. I started looking around to see what my options are to give coding a real shot.

After some research on different options, invaluable support and advice from friends, family and colleagues,  I decided to accept the challenge and enrol at Codaisseur Academy for an intensive Web Developer training. I am extremely happy to be accepted and thus will start my code-journey on the 2nd of October, which I will share with you through this blog.

Till then..

2 thoughts on “How BeeBytes came to Bee..”

Leave a Reply

